ICE arrests announced by the Department of Homeland Security on October 29, 2026, include five noncitizens with convictions for murder, first-degree sexual assault, drug trafficking and other offenses, according to the agency.
The ICE arrests occurred on Wednesday, October 28, 2026, and were highlighted in a DHS release describing the individuals as public-safety threats.
The announcement does not say that all five people had been removed from the United States, and it does not provide individual case numbers, immigration-status histories or court documents.
Table of Contents
What DHS said about the ICE arrests
DHS said Immigration and Customs Enforcement arrested individuals in New York, Nebraska, Florida, Massachusetts and Alabama.
The department presented the ICE arrests as part of the Trump administration’s broader immigration enforcement and deportation campaign.
Homeland Security Secretary Markwayne Mullin said ICE officers were continuing to arrest and remove people whom the department describes as criminal noncitizens.
DHS also repeated its claim that assaults against ICE personnel have increased by more than 1,600 percent, although the release did not provide the underlying data, comparison period or methodology for that figure.
The statement did not identify the specific local, state or federal courts involved in the five convictions.
Five people identified in the DHS release
DHS identified the following individuals and described their reported criminal histories.
- Gerald King: DHS said King is from Jamaica and was convicted of murder in Syracuse, New York.
- Victor Carmona-Hernandez: DHS said Carmona-Hernandez is from Mexico and was convicted of first-degree sexual assault in Douglas County, Nebraska.
- Armando Suarez: DHS said Suarez is from Cuba and was convicted of drug trafficking, larceny and possession of forged credit cards in Miami, Florida.
- Jonathan Jerry De Araujo-Lima: DHS said De Araujo-Lima is from Brazil and was convicted of armed robbery, witness intimidation and larceny in Shirley, Massachusetts.
- Margarito Martinez-Rebollar: DHS said Martinez-Rebollar is from Mexico and was convicted of theft of property and aggravated surveillance in Jefferson County, Alabama.
The release did not state when the convictions occurred, whether any of the individuals had completed criminal sentences or whether each person had a final order of removal.
Those details can affect what happens next in an immigration case.
Why an ICE arrest does not automatically mean immediate removal
ICE arrests can begin or advance a civil immigration enforcement case, but an arrest announcement is not the same as a completed deportation.
Depending on the person’s circumstances, ICE may detain the individual, seek continued custody, transfer the person to another facility or place the person into immigration court proceedings.
After ICE arrests, the agency may also carry out a removal when the government has the legal authority and required documents to do so.
Some individuals may remain in custody while their immigration cases proceed, while others may be released under supervision or another form of monitoring.
The DHS release did not describe the immigration status of any of the five people, identify their attorneys or explain whether they had pending appeals or other legal claims.
For that reason, the announcement supports reporting that ICE made the arrests, but it does not support a conclusion that every case has reached the removal stage.
How the cases may proceed
ICE arrests, detention decisions and removals involving people subject to immigration enforcement are managed by ICE’s Enforcement and Removal Operations division.
A person placed in removal proceedings generally receives formal documents explaining the government’s allegations and the basis for seeking removal.
The immigration court process can include hearings, motions, applications for relief and appeals, depending on the facts of the case.
Criminal convictions can influence immigration consequences, but the effect depends on the offense, the sentence, the person’s immigration history and the applicable provisions of federal law.
The DHS announcement does not provide enough information to determine the precise immigration consequences for any individual named in the release.
Readers should not treat the agency’s summary as a substitute for court records or individualized legal advice.
What families and communities can do
People trying to locate someone who may have been detained after ICE arrests can use ICE’s Online Detainee Locator System.
The locator allows searches using an A-number and country of birth, or by biographical information such as a person’s name, country of birth and date of birth.
ICE says exact spelling is important when searching by name.
People in detention or their family members can also contact ICE’s Detention Reporting and Information Line at 1-888-351-4024 for case-related assistance.
Individuals facing immigration proceedings should consider speaking with a licensed immigration attorney or an accredited representative.
Families should keep copies of immigration notices, criminal-court documents, identification records and attorney contact information in a secure location.
Because detention locations and court schedules can change, families should verify information through official government systems rather than relying solely on social-media posts or unofficial databases.
What the release leaves unanswered
The DHS announcement provides names, nationalities, locations and brief descriptions of the convictions, but it contains limited information about the individual cases.
It does not disclose the dates of the convictions, the sentences imposed, the dates of the ICE arrests or whether prosecutors were involved in any new criminal charges.
It also does not say whether the five people were arrested at homes, workplaces, correctional facilities or other locations.
The release does not identify the immigration court docket numbers or explain whether any person had a final removal order.
Those omissions matter because ICE arrests can occur at different points in the immigration process.
They also make it difficult to compare the five cases beyond the information DHS chose to publish.
Broader enforcement message
The latest ICE arrests fit a DHS communications strategy that emphasizes people with serious criminal convictions and frames immigration enforcement as a public-safety operation.
The department has invited the public to view additional arrests through its “Worst of the Worst” online initiative.
That messaging focuses on the government’s stated priority of locating and removing people it considers dangerous.
At the same time, the release does not provide a complete accounting of all ICE arrests made on October 28, 2026, or statistics showing how many arrests involved people with convictions compared with other immigration cases.
The five cases therefore offer a snapshot of the arrests DHS chose to publicize, not a comprehensive daily enforcement report.
INUS News will update this report if DHS, ICE or court records provide additional information about the cases, detention locations or removal proceedings.
Frequently Asked Questions
When did the five ICE arrests announced by DHS occur?
DHS published the announcement on October 29, 2026, and said the arrests occurred the previous day, October 28, 2026.
Who was identified in the DHS announcement?
DHS identified Gerald King, Victor Carmona-Hernandez, Armando Suarez, Jonathan Jerry De Araujo-Lima and Margarito Martinez-Rebollar.
Do the arrests mean the five people were already deported?
No. The DHS release announces arrests but does not state that all five individuals had been removed from the United States.
How can someone check whether a person is in ICE custody?
The public can use ICE’s Online Detainee Locator System with an A-number and country of birth or with biographical information.
Where can families seek information about an ICE detention case?
ICE lists its Detention Reporting and Information Line at 1-888-351-4024. Families may also seek help from a licensed immigration attorney or an accredited representative.
Fact-Checked: The names, locations and conviction descriptions were checked against the DHS release dated October 29, 2026; individual court records were not independently reviewed.
Disclaimer: This report is informational and does not provide individualized legal advice.
New Minimum Wage In Canada and 5 Provinces, Effective April 1
